The term “Success”

A conversation came up at the barn the other day, “what does success mean to you?”. People’s responses were varied, and hugely individual. Some connected the word to being financially stable, or having a happy life. While others thought of the word as achieving a goal. In general, the end conclusion was that success is the objective of life. Everyone wants success in their life, and everyone strives for it.

This conversation got my thinking what exactly success is, and what it means to me personally. Merriam-Webster simply defines success as a “favorable or desired outcome, or the attainment of wealth, favor, or eminence”. For me, I suppose that I think of success as accomplishing a goal that I had set out, and through living each day to its fullest potential. Success, for me, isn’t a once in a blue moon occurrence, it’s everyday. It’s feeling the softening over Hope’s back during collected work, it’s that one extra stride in our canter pirouettes, it’s pushing myself just a little bit harder, it’s finishing that project, it’s smiling and finding a lesson when the day didn’t turn out how I expected it would. Success is a day by day attainment, and it means that I accomplished what I set out to do, that I am a little bit better than I was the day before.

success

Perhaps what I love most about success, is that I am able to control it. I can choose to work harder everyday, to try and achieve my goals, to push myself, to learn. If I am not successful in the conventional sense of achieving a goal or improving, then I still try to find a lesson in the day’s events and learn from it, so I am better prepared for the next time something stands in my way.

motivation

If I could have one wish fulfilled, I decided long ago that I would ask to have success with horses. That was, and is, my one wish. Everyday I strive to make that a reality, and I work just a little bit harder to make that wish come true.

What does success mean to you?

Leave a Reply

